Author Interview: Caroline George

What if your seventeenth birthday was just around the corner…

…and you already had two published novels under your belt?

cropped-img_2473

Meet Caroline George, a teenager who has accomplished these feats and so much more. Caroline has written and published two books with a third on the way. Check out the interview below—it’s sure to inspire!

》Before we begin, tell us a little about yourself.

I live outside of Atlanta, Georgia. Writing is my passion but I also love to paint, play guitar, am an aspiring barista, and world-traveler. I have three younger siblings, two dogs and two cats, and wear a pair of brown, knee-high combat-boots practically every day. Vintage is my fashion. High-adventure is always my activity of choice. And I’m made more of paper and ink than flesh and blood. I currently go to a non-traditional school, which allows me the time I need to write and publish, and hope to major in publishing once I graduate. Ben Howard’s ‘Keep Your Head Up’ is the most played song on my computer. I drink too much coffee and always have a craving for sushi. But beyond the petty details of my existence, I love my family and treasure the relationship I have with my Creator.

》 When did you know you were going to be an author? 

Authoring books has always been a dream of mine. I started writing/telling stories as a toddler; but it wasn’t until sixth-grade that I actually made “publishing a novel by sixteen” a goal.

》Why did you choose to self-publish? Was it as difficult or easy as you thought it was going to be?

After I finished ‘The Prime Way Program: Be the Victor’, I submitted my manuscript to several agents. All said that it was a fantastic book and if I were a few years older, they’d publish me in a heartbeat. I was fifteen at the time.My editor/mentor encouraged me to self-publish PWP as an ebook. This was an option I hadn’t considered and after much thought, I began educating myself on the process of virtual publication. The next few months were a tumultuous rollercoaster. Instead of paying a company to format my book and provide cover-art, I personally formatted my book, converted it into the needed file-types, and organized a cover-shoot. Nothing was easy, but hardly anything worth doing is easy.

》If you could go back in time to when you first started The Prime Way Trilogy, what would you tell yourself and what would you do differently?

I would tell myself to keep trudging forward. Discouragement is easy to obtain. Confidence and determination takes years of hard work and tenacity to gain. There is nothing I would change about my past. The choices I made then define my current identity. Of course, looking back now, there are a few things I would’ve done differently; but the past is vast and absolute.


》Who are the main characters in your series? Why should we care about them? 
Kyle Chase and Cora Kingston are the driving forces within ‘The Prime Way Trilogy’. Beyond their genetically-altered abilities and troubled pasts, they’re teenagers with human emotions. Although their conflict is different from what you and I experience on a daily basis, the roots are the same. We all battle with our own fear, insecurities, and identity crises. We sometimes feel alone and unwanted; and we’re all faced with several choices: to either overcome the obstacles in our lives and rise victorious, or become victims to our own inadequacy; and to either blend into normalcy or embrace our differences. We were created for a purpose.

》You recently just published the second installment of your trilogy, “Just Strength”. Could you give us a hint of what we can expect to find in this sequel?

‘The Prime Way Program: Just Strength’ focuses mainly on Kyle’s and Cora’s struggles as they face the horrors of apocalyptic America. They battle their own fears and insecurities while learning how to adapt to the harsh world and their new roles as military-leaders. Set in an environment much different than that in ‘Be the Victor’, this book is bursting with action, intensity, and grunge. Some things to expect: answers to the questions surrounding the Program, plot-twists that will leave you speechless, and a developing romance that is sure to keep your heart racing.

》If you could have lunch with any character from your book(s),who would it be and why? 

I’d have lunch with Kyle Chase. He is what I consider to be the perfect man. I’m sure we could have some good conversations.

》Do you listen to music when you write?

Yes. I listen to a lot of film-scores and acoustic artists (Ben Howard, Jon Foreman, Bon Iver, Gabrielle Aplin, Temper Trap, Civil Twilight). Music helps me visualize scenes, feel different emotions, and get into the mindset of my characters.

》What or who is your inspiration?

Life is my inspiration. I am inspired by places, experiences, music, and people. Of course, all credit goes to God. Without him, I wouldn’t be able to write at all.

Isaac Marion, author of ‘Warm Bodies’, inspires some of my writing style. I love how he takes pop-culture topics (such as zombies) and morphs them into deep, allegorical descriptions of society. His vocabulary usage is phenomenal. I incorporate some of the same elements into my writing.

》If you could meet any author, dead or alive, who would you want to meet?

I would definitely want to meet C.S Lewis, Jane Austen, and J.R.R. Tolkien; who’ve all left amazing pieces of literature and legacies. I also have a lot of respect for authors such as Steven King, James Patterson, and Nicholas Sparks; who continue to write and publish books. They’re what I consider to be true novelists.

We’re going to wrap up this interview with one last closing thought from Caroline:

Dream big and never stop fighting for what you love. Through hard work and perseverance, you can accomplish amazing things.

png (1)

~ ~ ~

Impressive, huh? Now, go check out Caroline’s work!

51thNwco3vL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA278_PIkin4,BottomRight,-63,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_

The Prime Way Program: Be The Victor, the first book of The Prime Way Trilogy.

Amazon

Smashwords

Barnes & Noble

511CL5BQE2L._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA278_PIkin4,BottomRight,-63,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_

The Prime Way Program: Just Strength

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

You can find Caroline George all over the web. Give her a follow!

Caroline George’s Blog

Book Website 

Goodreads

 Facebook

Twitter @PrimeWayProgram

~   ~   ~   ~

 Did you enjoy the interview? Let Caroline know in the comments below! 

Are you an author? Would you like your work to be featured next? Shoot me an email: isabellastines@yahoo.com

5 thoughts on “Author Interview: Caroline George

  1. God has blessed you with an amazing talent and I know that you will go far with it. It is exciting to see how you pour yourself into your passion. Keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

